How to make trees

Well, today I  have been very productive. Over a 3 hour period I have made 8 trees.

This is how I did it.

I had some Rhododendron off-cuts that had dried out.

These off-cuts are great as the hard wood growth from last year is a silver colour and has a texture just like bark

These off-cuts are great as the hard wood growth from last year is a silver colour and has a texture just like bark.

From a couple of off-cuts I have made 8 tree trunks.

8 trunks all different shapes and styles. bottoms cut square. Figure for scale and is a large 28mm Knight from 1st Corps

8 trunks all different shapes and styles. bottoms cut square. Figure for scale and is a large 28mm Knight from 1st Corps

I next use a hot glue gun to glue the trunks to what are called penny washers. The glue hardens in minutes but if you don’t have a glue gun then use a 2 part epoxy glue and leave overnight to fully set.

In my case a cup of tea later.

here the trunks have been glued to the washers.

here the trunks have been glued to the washers.

Start to tare up the horse hair in to odd shapes and sizes. To make these trees I used less than 1 square foot from my 6×3 sheets. About £1.60 or 20p a tree!

Here I have ripped a couple of pieces for a tree. Ready to be glued on.

Here I have ripped a couple of pieces for a tree. Ready to be glued on.

Fire up the glue gun and place a large dollop on the end of each branch and push the horse hair on like candy floss. If not sure  practice first.

Trees with horse hair glued on.

Trees with horse hair glued on.

Tip. You can add extra layers to increase height rather than glue a single large clump on.

Spray the top and sides of the hair with spray glue. This can be messy and you need to avoid getting any on the trunk. I use an old washing glove to hold and mask the trunk when spraying. I leave the underside the natural colour as I think it looks like the branches.

Once sprayed with free hand sprinkle over the top your flock. I use a mix of greens from many suppliers that I pick up at shows or railway model shops (Cheaper than high street traders).

Leave to dry – couple cups of tea.

Trees all sprayed and sprinkled with flock

Trees all sprayed and sprinkled with flock

Paint the washers with PVA and dip in grit. I use bird grit available from any good pet store, again at a fraction of the cost of any high street games shop.

Bird grit

Bird grit

PVA applied and dipped in grit.

PVA applied and dipped in grit.

Once dry, after a couple of cups of tea, I  paint the bases to blend in with my wargame surface.

I painted mine chocolate brown, dry brushed and added a little flock.

Here they are in all their glory.

100_1865  100_1863

100_1864

Please have a go. Not only is it enjoyable, surprisingly easy but will give you great results at a fraction of commercially available trees.

1 Comment

Filed under Terrain

One response to “How to make trees

  1. Pingback: Taking A Break From The War of the Roses | The Think Tank

Leave a Reply

