Never done so much Wargaming!

Sorry it has been a while but I have been distracted.

My normal wargaming life is to pick a scenario and over the following year, write the rules, collect the figures and build the terrain. Once done, I usually take it to a couple of shows and play the game with a small group of close mates. We might even get together a couple of times through the year to try it out.

When purchasing a few item from a well know web site I noticed the seller offered free collection and being only a mile down the road I collected them. What a surprise. The seller turned out to be a wargamer (Nathan) I knew from a few years back Anyway the upshot is that I am now wargaming more than ever, unfortunately this has had an impact upon the painting.

So far in the last month we have played

Sails of Glory

untitled

This was bought for me by wife for my birthday. I have now had my first game and have to confess I loved it. We only played with 1 ship each and with the basic rules but I have to admit it was perfect for a naval game. I enjoy the thought of naval battles but in the past have not had a great experience having played for a few hours and still awaiting the ships to get to grips. Next time we will either add an extra ship or try out the additional rules.

The last show I went to, Devizes I bought 4 additional ships. These are frigates aimed at the American war of 1812. Looking at the deck for some of them it should be fast and furious.

 

Fields of Honor

FOH Rules Master FOH AWI Rules

I think these are a great set of rules. I have both versions. The set we played with was the American War of Independence set. These are a booklet in reality, but come with some maps and counters enabling either use with figures or as a board game. There is also a campaign offered.

Nathan have never played them so I set up the maps and we played a randomly generated game and played the rules straight out the book. It worked well and we both agreed that using these rules for the tabletop will be ideal, especially as the full set offer a little more detail without over complicating the basic rules.

 

Turning Point

Turning Point

This is a board game I bought at the Plymouth Show (PAW). Great show please check it out.

Freeman’s Farm and Lundy’s Lane were turning points in the American Revolution and the War of 1812 for America in the formation the United States Army. 

I picked this up purely for the artwork. You get two maps, 4 decks of action cards and full colour counters. Thought I could use it to identify and build additional units for each era. The game played well but not probably something we will play again.

 

Clear Out

This month I also decided that WW2-28mm is probably not for me and so I sold all the buildings I had as well as most of my “I will get around to paint them” pile of figures. The buildings were all from the Grand Manner Carentan range and used in my Dad’s Army game.

Nathan also does War of the Roses re-enactment. During an evening chat as we played we discussed the War of the Roses. It fired me up to focus some attention on to this forgotten period, again. Having looked at the pitiful collection I had I looked around and have decided to reinvest the funds from the sale into a collection suitable for Bosworth. Initially these will be based around the scenario in The Flower of Chivalry rules from the Canadian Wargames Group. Below is the structure of the units.

Richard III

  Henry Tudor

Stanleys

So at the moment I am trying to add units to 3 eras while also playing more wargames than I have for years.

Next week we are going to  try out a couple of War of the Roses scenarios.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under America 1812, American war Independence, Battle of Freeman's Farm, Battle of Lundy's Lane, Boardgames, Napoleonics, Naval, Wargame Rules

Leave a Reply

