War of the Roses, Armada and Highlanders

A bit of a quiet month so far.

War of the Roses

A few blogs ago I mentioned that I was having a bit of a clear out of old unplayed items. With the money raised I decided to take some of the pressure off me by getting someone else to do some painting. I searched for a while and found a painting service that also will supply the models. The name of the site is http://deadkingsrise.blogspot.co.uk/  and the gent who runs it is called Alan Hunter. All my general enquiries where answered and Alan is so knowledgeable about the era it made it enjoyable doing business with him.

Following initial chats I commissioned Alan to supply some painted units to represent the Battle of Bosworth. The commission will be for over 700 troops covering all combatants as well as additional units of mercenaries. These when combined with my existing units will give me over 1200 figures. I hope to have all units completed for a game at Legionary 2015.

Only a few months in and the first parts of the order have turned up. Very impressed and cannot now wait from the remaining units to arrive.   I ordered them all unbased so I can base them in my normal style. Each unit has 21 figures and there will be 3 units to a battle 1 off Bills and 2 off bows and 1 of Knights (18 figures). Just as the order was placed Perry launched their dismounted men at arms so timing is just right.

I knocked up a few flags for Talbot ( Shrewsbury). Too late I realized that I had the livery around the wrong way so will knock up another version this week.

100_2840

Tudor’s Bows

100_2841

Tudor’s Bows, flags to be added.

100_2842

Tudor’s Bills, flags need to be added.

Henry Tudor's Bows

Henry’s Bills

100_2836

Shrewsbury’s Bows

100_2837

More Bows

100_2838

Shrewsbury’s Bills

100_2839

Shrewsbury’s Bills

Armada

Following on from the success of the first game. I have pressed on finishing the models.

Both models have been rigged and are ready for a detail wash and transfers added.

The ships are on the boards that come with the game.

100_2830

San Martin

100_2831

San Martin

100_2832

Revenge

100_2833

Revenge

100_2834

Revenge

100_2835

Revenge

Scottish Wars

Here is the latest unit. It is representing a highland unit and is made up from Old Glory Miniatures and Foundry. they go together really well

Might have gone a little OTT on the basing but I ordered some heather plants and wanted to see what they were like.

100_2844 100_2845

100_2846

4 Comments

Filed under Armada, Battle of Bosworth, Boardgames, Legionary Wargame Show, Medieval, Naval, Scottish Wars of Independence, War of the Roses

4 responses to “War of the Roses, Armada and Highlanders

  1. Mike (Old Pikey)

    Nice one Graham

  2. C

    I know this is an old post – but where did you get the purple tufts from

Leave a Reply

