More Buildings – Sarissa Models

SAM_3293 SAM_3294

Here are a few pictures of some models I bought to supplement my growing collection of 28mm buildings with a particular slant towards a WW2 Dad’s Army game.

having purchase a large number of buildings from Charlie Foxtrot I saw these and thought what if.

I bought 2 terraced houses, a shop and a set of dormer windows from their Gas Lamp Alley range. These are big models, in all aspects. I would probably say they are designed for the very large 28s on the market. They do look a little large when placed next to other makers kits even Sarissa’s own other ranges. They will have to form their own area in the game.

They are priced at £14.99 for the house, £19.99 for the shop and £4.99 for 2 dormer window kits. I think really good value for money.

I really like these models although there are a few little niggles. Nothing to lose sleep over but the roof I think is too shallow and on a few courses of brickwork the vertical pointing is missing. That said the detail of the sash windows and doors is great. Care must be taken as these are 1mm cardboard so I sealed them with varnish before painting as I was worried what any damp may do.

I also purchased a French Chateau for £25, an excellent kit and the value for money is great. The detail of the shutters is the best I have seen on any kits but beware that they are so thin because they are cut into cardboard! These are of a slightly smaller scale than the Gas Lamp range and will fit perfectly in with my Charlie Foxtrot kits with no problem. This will probably represent a town hall or something similar.

SAM_3308 SAM_3309 SAM_3310 SAM_3311

Finally I also purchased what is call a Large farm House for £20. This is another good kit and I particularly like the archway.  I think this will end up being a pub or something similar. The only weak point for me with the kit is the chimneys. The pots are square! I guess for easy of production but it does let the kit down. I will probably replace with piping

SAM_3300 SAM_3301 SAM_3302 SAM_3303

Here is their web address http://www.sarissa-precision.com/28mm_Ranges/cat1603369_2110069.aspx

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews, Sarissa Models, Terrain, Traders

Leave a Reply

