ACW Revisited – Part 1

Having swore never to go in to ACW again.   I have.

In previous expeditions into this era ,I started in 15mm then went into 25mm down to 10mm and back to 28mm before swapping my collection for the start of an English Civil War Army. I also have to admit that in all those scales I only ever played about 4 games.

Having recently establish a small group of regular gamers who all have a liking for ACW I became tempted back into it.

Therefore over the last few months I have been buying, painting and basing.

 RULES

The rules we will try will be our own lite version of the Fields of Honor, rule set.

Order Of Battle

As with most new eras I go into,  I like to pick a battle and start to build the forces for it.

On this occasion I picked a rather smallish event, The Battle of Mill Springs also known as Logan’s Cross Roads, 19 January 1862.

This battle has everything I like when starting a new era. It has a little of all aspects of the armies of the day. Infantry, Artillery, Cavalry,  and dismounted cavalry. The terrain is interesting with roads, fields fencing, rivers, and woods.

The order of battle I will be working to is:

Mill Springs ConfedMill Springs Union

THE TABLE

I will probably play this game on a 8×6′ table. Map and entrance positions below.

Mill Springs

THE FIGURES

Here are a few picture of the command I have painted so far. These are a mixture of Perry and 1st Corps. Although they fit as in scale wise, the quality of the Perry over the 1st Corps stands out. That said I do like the character look of the 1st Corps. The 1st Corps horses were great to paint as I just painted them a base colour and then once dry wiped them with oils.

The Union

The Confederates

These were a mixture of Perry and Redoubt. While similar comments to the union command regarding quality are true, I do feel that Redoubt are slightly better than 1st Corps overall.

As I finish troops I will add another blog.

2 Comments

Filed under 1st Corps, ACW, American Civil War, Battle of Mill Springs, Perry, Redoubt Miniatures, Scenarios, Traders, Wargame Rules

2 responses to “ACW Revisited – Part 1

  1. Geoff Coe

    What basing sizes are you workjng to?

    • Geoff.
      Currently the plan is infantry 40×40 with 3 or 4 figures, 2 if skirmish. This gives a little more raggedness to a unit than my normal formations. Cavalry 50×50 with 2 figures to a base and artillery is 60×80 with 1 gun to a section. Commander are on round bases the higher the commander the bigger the base. Should have some photos of the infantry soon.

Leave a Reply

