War of 1812 – British Gunboats

For the first time in a long time I attended Fisticuffs in Weymouth. Please check it out as it is a really good show with gaming at its heart.

While there having a look around the traders I spotted a couple of painted gunboats from Britannia Miniatures owned by Grubby Tanks. I know these models well as I have a few unpainted ones waiting in the increasing “to be painted” pile . I bought them for the Battle of Crysler’s Farm but have probably thought that the painting time, to paint the 19 figures per boat was better off spent painting regiments.

Having looked at and walked away a number of times, the voice in my head finally convinced me that I deserved a treat so ……………….here they are.

They suffered a little on the way home due to the everything we bought on what was a fantastic bring and buy. But a few hours and some nice basing will soon have them ship shape.

They will then be ready to provide supporting fire from the British right flank on the River.

The problem is that they have now sparked an idea of 28mm Great Lake Naval battles!

My old mate Brian, an ex marine (reliably, his words) informed me that the oar blades are different colours due to which watch the boat belonged to, Port or Starboard. I love interesting facts like that.

Here some pictures. They are not on ice, just that I thought the detail may have been lost on a green terrain tile and I could not find a blue cloth.

SAM_3703 SAM_3708 SAM_3707 SAM_3706

SAM_3705 SAM_3704

 

Leave a comment

Filed under America 1812, Battle of Bladensburg, Battle of Crysler's Farm, Battle of Lundy's Lane, Battle of New Orleans, Battle of Queenston Heights, Battle of the River Thames, Britannia Miniatures, Napoleonics, Traders

Leave a Reply

