Legionary 2015 Update

For this show which is my local I was hoping to put on a war of the Roses Game. In fact I had decided to try and do Bosworth. As the show is now only a few months away I have taken stock of where I am. I have to admit I am a long way off having all the troops ready. Too distracted with other eras and a new job. With this in mind I am working on a slightly different approach and intend to do an encounter game. it will probably involve most of the troops I have. Below are a few shoots of the stuff I have painted over the last month or so.

So what have we?

Henry Holland, 3rd Duke of Exeter (27 June 1430 – September 1475), As an Exeter boy myself  born and breed, I just had to have a battle representing him. I currently have a small command base on foot, mounted to come, 1 unit of bills and another of Archers. this will probably increase to 2 of archers.

The figures are:

Archers – Perry Plastics

Bills – Old Glory

Command – Foundry. these are smaller in height when compared to the others so put each figure on a small base to lift them up then hid it with the textured base. all of my units are made up of 3 bases 60mm x 60mm.

Exeter's Battle 1

Exeter’s Battle 1

 

Exeter's battle 2

Exeter’s Battle 2

Burgundian Crossbows

These have been sat on the paint table for about a year half finished.

The figures are Perry plastics with the Pavaise artwork transfers by Little Big Men Studios http://www.littlebigmenstudios.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=1

I might stick a few arrows in to the pavaises and surrounding ground for dramatic effect.

100_3160 100_3159 100_3158

 

That’s all for now.

2 Comments

Filed under Battle of Bosworth, Demo game, Legionary Wargame Show, Medieval, War of the Roses, Wargame Shows

2 responses to “Legionary 2015 Update

  1. It looks like the old glory wotr figs and the perry plastics mix ok? I think I’d like to get some old glory levy figs to go with the perry’s I’m using as the retinues.

    • They certainly fit better than the Foundry figures. That said some of the figures are hit and mmiss.
      I wouldn’t get their mounted knights again as the horses are way too thin. I think some of the 100 years war range would be good for the less well off units.
      One of the real benefits is the great value for money.
      I will try to get some better photos. I have used some 100years war range in my Scottish Independence units. They are great.

Leave a comment